the new Pope and China’s new leaders


Affinità e divergenze tra Bergoglio e Xi Jinping

lijia zhang's blog

Last week, I was interviewed by Germany’s Stern magazine about my hope for the new Pope. I am not sure how much they used it, if at all, here’s my view.

My hope for the new pope is just like ordinary Chinese people’s hope for our new leader – that he will introduce genuine reforms.

One can easily draw comparison between Catholic establishment and Chinese Communist Party, except that the latter has proved itself to be more flexible and adaptable.

The world has changed so much but not the Catholic establishment. I hope the new Pope will inject new blood and more vitality into it by modernizing it, making it more open, transparent and more relevant to the people. I hope he’ll consider the ordination of women and give women more leadership roles and bigger voice. And contraception and abortion shouldn’t be issues – this is 21st century.

I hope…

View original post 166 altre parole

Rispondi

